Get to Know the 5 Stages of Grief Better

What Do You Get from a Provider of Home Health Care

Losing a friend or a loved one is never an easy stage to go through. It’s not all about the person who passed away, it’s also about those whom they left behind. Children, parents, siblings, friends, and many more mourn their loss. It is normal, people going through this stage require support and help. Many of those who are going through grief but did not receive enough support are likely to end up in the pit of depression. It is a very difficult stage that requires immediate medical attention.

The stages of grief are universal, it does not differ regardless of age, culture, and race. People may experience grief in different lengths of time and intensity, stages can also be interchanged, but it will always end in acceptance. That is the ultimate end of grief.

Let’s get to know the stages of grief even better:


    When something bad happens or when we receive negative information, our minds immediately deny it. It is a defense mechanism of our emotions to numb us from abrupt pain. Facts are not acceptable for most people who are in the denial stage, no convincing words can make them see and realize reality. This is the stage that carries the initial wave of pain.

  2. ANGER

    As denial wears-off, reality sinks in. Because we were not prepared for the sudden loss, it is redirected and expressed as anger. The feeling of anger is not specific and it can be anything that comes out of our mind. People who go through anger may seem angry at the person who passed away for causing pain and sorrow. The person will then feel guilty and angrier because of it.


    It is a normal way to counter feelings of helplessness. There is the need to gain control over what’s happening in the surroundings. Families and loved ones going through this stage feel that there was something that they could have done but they were not able to do so.


    People may go through depression when mourning in two different ways.

    The first one is a reaction to the situation, this is expressed through sadness and regrets. There is also the worry about the costs and the burial, and the worry about other family members’ emotions. This expression of depression can be helped by reassurance and clarification.

    The other type of depression is subtle and more private. This is a more alarming type because it is not noticeable. This type requires somebody who can be with them, somebody who can hug them and make them feel cared for during their time of grief.


    This stage is an ultimate goal for all people who are going through grief. This stage is not achieved by all. Acceptance allows families to go on with life where they left off knowing that what happened is a part of the past.

Grieving is a stage in life that all of us go through. Bayou Home Care understands the need for support, that’s why we have medical social workers who can assist you and your family as you go through the stages of grief. Our company provides Home Care in Louisiana and we extend our services to the welfare of the patient’s family. We provide assistance and counseling as part of our services too.

Please share this post on your social media accounts and spread the message that help is available when someone needs it. Hopefully, someone who is grieving will find the right support to get them through.

This entry was posted in Home Care, Home Health Care and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *